Reset


I have a reset movie.

Hope Floats

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes I have to go to my reset source to do any number of things: cry, laugh, think, empower, adjust my window.  I do not like to dwell and I do not like to be sad. I prefer half-full vs half-empty.  This past week, I visited my reset movie and I may have added another one to the list.

My reset movie is…Hope Floats.  My first love of the movie was initially my love for Harry Connick, Jr. Taking place in Smithville, Texas (yes, it is a real place!),  Sandra Bullock plays a mother and daughter who is separated from her husband who was having an affair. (If you have not seen the movie, I might add that this revelation happens to her during a live national talk show ~  horrific!)  She is in a state of tug-of-war with herself and her own daughter battling through all of the emotions of change, growing and acceptance.  This is a  story of life, its problems, its love, challenges and outcomes. The messages that resonated with me in the early viewings were that hope does in fact float and how we spend our chances. As I grew older, I embraced the love story and how it doesn’t always work out the way we want it too. And, with my last watch, the movie pulled on my heart-strings like never before. I was pulled from in-between, as a mother and as a daughter. It is a reminder that being ordinary is pretty extraordinary and that happiness is being who you are.  Sometimes, things seem pretty hopeless, but that’s why we have family. The bond of family is strong and as much as we can annoy each other,  we are God’s gift to get through the hard times. Then, hope floats.

“Beginnings are usually scary, endings are usually sad, it is what is in the middle that counts.” ~ Birdee Pruitt, Hope Floats

My latest addition to my life’s reset movie list is Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. It is a wonderful movie starring Dustin Hoffman and Natalie Portman. Mr. Magorium is 243 years old. His revelation in the movie is that he bought enough pairs of shoes to last his lifetime, he is wearing his last pair.  He owns a magical toy store and is soon departing (lightbulbs die, we depart). Molly Mahoney, his assistant, must deal with his departure and grasp her own greatness. Due to the recent events in our family’s life, this movie was wonderfully timed. It touched on the things that we needed to remember.

  • First, that life is an occasion and we must rise to it.
  • Secondly, we cannot wait.
“We breathe. We pulse. We regenerate. Our hearts beat. Our minds create. Our souls ingest. 37 seconds, well used, is a lifetime.”  ~Mr. Magorium
  • Thirdly, “He Dies” is not nearly as important as “He lived!”
“When King Lear dies in Act V, do you know what Shakespeare has written? He’s written “He dies.” That’s all, nothing more. No fanfare, no metaphor, no brilliant final words. The culmination of the most influential work of dramatic literature is “He dies.” It takes Shakespeare, a genius, to come up with “He dies.” And yet, every time I read those two words, I find myself overwhelmed with dysphoria. And I know it’s only natural to be sad, but not because of the words, “He dies.” but because of the life we saw prior to the words.” ~Mr. Magorium
 
What is your reset movie?
5 thoughts on “Reset

  1. I have two reset movies too – French Kiss and When Harry Met Sally. French Kiss because it make me laugh, but more importantly it reminds me that even though I might be chasing my dreams, life will lead me where I need to be. When Harry Met Sally because it shows the complexities of human relationships and the ultimate need we have of each other, no matter how strong we think we are alone. I love, love this entry! Good read.

    • I love BOTH of those movies too. In fact, I might have to watch them now that you mention them. I am especially fond of French Kiss. It makes me laugh out loud. I can completely underdstand why those are your reset movies! Thanks for the Love ~Stacey

  2. You always offer me great thoughts to ponder. Life is a journey not a destination, is what comes to mind when I think of your reset movies. We all need to be reminded to enjoy the ride while we can…even the scary twists and bumps in the road.

  3. “Sometimes, things seem pretty hopeless, but that’s why we have family. The bond of family is strong and as much as we can annoy each other, we are God’s gift to get through the hard times. Then, hope floats.” Beautiful and inspiring. Movies can makes us cry, be moved, be inspired , to believe in hope and love once again. Thanks for putting a part of your personal story in it…made the movies summary more passionate and personal. Now, I need to watch this endearing movie. Thank you. God bless you and your family always…and yes, hope floats to all…..

Leave a Reply

