Advice Nuggets


Do you have background noise in your brain, I do. It is the constant chatter that happens as I am working on something or pondering a problem. Interestingly, the chatter that talks to me loudest are the words from other people. All of the advice I have gathered over the years collected in the little rolodex in my brain. Sure, there are fabulous and profound quotes from people I admire like Mother Teresa and Benjamin Franklin….but the ones that surface the most are those words from family and friends.

The wisdom that they share becomes imprinted on us. While we think we know everything in our teens and twenties, they are busy offering nuggets of wisdom for us to pull from during our lifetime. Here are a few of the random advice nuggets that pop in my head…

“Honey, don’t worry, it all comes out in the wash.” ~ Grandma Teresa Maraldo

I heard this all the time in my teens and twenties. I think it almost daily now. Life just has a way of working itself out; there is no need to over-think it.

“Don’t worry about s**t  until you step in it.” ~ Tom Phillips

Tom never minced words. This phrase of his is a simple reminder that worrying does not do anything positive for the soul.

“There may be snow on the rooftop, but there is still fire in the furnace.” ~ Grandma Teresa Maraldo

In my teens and twenties this little saying of hers made me wrinkle my nose say “eeewww” and giggle. Now, at my age that will go untold, my perspective is this: the amazing human factor is that during our whole life we can love passionately. Pretty incredible isn’t it?

“Make sure when you find the man you’re gonna marry, he can change the oil in a car and fix a leaky pipe, you never know when hard times might hit and you won’t be able to afford to have someone else fix it.” ~ My Dad

Thanks Dad! Great advice. He also made sure he taught us girls how to do things for ourselves, in case we couldn’t rely on anyone else to fix it. By the way, he was right.

“Is it going to matter 2 weeks from now? Two months from now? Two years from now?” ~ Mitchell

This was shared with me by a work colleague. It is a measuring tool to help leave things in the past. It also helps me weigh out if I need to take action to rectify something.

“You eat a pound of dirt before you die.” ~ Grandma Teresa Maraldo

I kind of hope not, but it does make me feel better when I see my kids eat things off of the floor. (Gross)

“Well, now you know what you don’t want to do.” ~My Mom

Told to me many, many times as I tried different jobs and they didn’t “fit” me.

“Drive a stake and move forward.” ~ Awesome Husband

Decisive. Great advice.

“Offer it up.” Grandma and Dad

As a kid, I didn’t quite understand how this worked, just to pray over things that I found hard or difficult. Recently, it has been presented differently and has evolved into a bigger role in my life. It falls under the Pray Constantly file. No matter what we are doing, easy or challenging we can lift that task up and offer it as an active prayer, possibly for someone else who is sick, struggling or in hard times. As a teenager it was a small nugget of advice, as an adult it is a great evolution of spirit.

“Get ‘er done!” ~ My Mom (and pretty much every person I know)

That is all there is to it. Make no excuses, just get it done! Lots of times your friends will help!

“You don’t go to church for the Priest, you go there for God.” Grandma Teresa Maraldo

Offered to me as a teenager, carried forever. It has helped keep my focus intact while attending Mass.

“Be your own best friend.” ~ Grandma Teresa Maraldo

I use this with my children too. You need to like you first, have confidence and be independent. If you can be your own best friend, you will never be lonely.

These are just a few samples of advice nuggets I have received over the years. There are many, many more and I am sure I will collect more along the way.

What is a piece of advice that you were given that you carry along your journey?

8 thoughts on “Advice Nuggets

  1. “Snap out of it!” – Greasy Granny (my Mom). By far her favorite saying and one I hold true to. It means so many things – move on, get over it, quit dwelling, fix it, change it, etc. I live by this one and try to evolve positively. My Mom in turn says I say this a lot (though I don’t think about it much) “It is what it is.” I guess that is my acceptance of a situation, whether I can change it or not. Once you accept what is going on you can move forward. Great post!

  2. This is probably NOT what you want to hear,….however: for a good time NOT a long time………………………………………………………………………

  3. Love all the advice nuggets…they are so true. My father taught me to change a flat tire so that I would never be stranded. He said you shouldn’t have to depend on others.

Leave a Reply

