It’s My Birthday — Eat Cake!


Birthday Cake

Birthday Cake (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As hard as I try, these birthday things keep coming around. I told them to stop 5 years ago…and here we are again! For many, celebration involves cake. Especially for my daughter, “Mom, are we gonna have cake on your birthday? And pizza and hot dogs? That would be a great birthday!”

I suppose that does make a great birthday, but I have a horrible confession to make. I do not care for cake. I really don’t like icing. Sometimes, I will eat the cake and not the icing. My mom will then come by and eat the icing. I love pie, brownies and fudge. I like decadent desserts with hot chocolate lava seeping out, but cake…not so much.

If you were to ask me to choose my favorite cake flavor, I would probably choose white cake or angel food. Though, I do like Texas Sheet Cake. I don’t know if it is a Texas thing or not but I do really like it no matter the name. I believe it is because it is more fudgey than cakey (and yes, I know those are not words, but is my birthday and today I want them to be words).  With all of these cake musings, I began to wonder where did cake and I go astray?

Could it have been when I was just a wee lass and my Mom, who is certainly not known for her culinary skills, baked a bundt cake that was so hard that they actually wrote “Goodyear Tire” on it and rolled it down the street?

Or could my cake demise have occurred when I was in the fourth grade? Surrounded by my friends, at the end of “Happy Birthday” I bent in to blow out my candles and “ttthhhppthhph” Shane spit all over my cake! I was grossed out and mortified! Did I eat that cake?  Absolutely not.

Or was my cake-love collapse shaped by one of the “cake-tastrophies” of my teenage years? For instance, while celebrating  “Don’s” birthday at my house, one of the girls caught her hair on fire while lighting the candles. Have you ever smelt burnt hair? We didn’t eat that cake either.

Then of course for my 16th birthday “Don” brought a cake he had made for me. As you will notice by the picture,  he created a busty bathing suit dessert. Great…  Actually, I will admit, he did have a talent for making interesting cakes. Though embarrassed,  I did eat that cake.

So, I don’t really know the true answer about why I have a cake aversion. But don’t you worry, I will put my taste buds to the test again…no need to waste a perfectly good cake!

Have a super day! I know I will!

Happy Birthday to me (2011)

Texas Sheet Cake Recipe

3 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday — Eat Cake!

  1. Hey! I was at that party! I remember Don trying to shove cake in your face and you flying over a chair too. Aaaahhh memories…..Happy Birthday to my “oldest” friend. Luv ya!

  2. Happy belated birthday. I leave the icing on the plate each time I’m given a slice of wedding cake…way too sweet. I tend to like desserts that are more simple.

Leave a Reply

