Grumpy Pants


Do you ever have one of those days where your family makes you absolutely crazy? Well, yesterday was one of those days. I was so frustrated (and so was everyone else, for that matter) that I couldn’t take it anymore.  I was irritated with my husband. I was tired of listening to the grumpy pants of my children. I had just had it! 

In the midst of this frustration, we decided to go to church. In my complete exasperation, I sneered on the way in that I was not going to sit with them today because they were making me nuts! I was going to sit alone! 

Then, in my anger, I knelt down and prayed. Okay, it was more like a rant. Of course, I apologized– but I was still fuming, unappreciated, and cranky!  (Honestly, this wasn’t one of my better moments.)

Then I sat back in the pew. I had decided to sit by my family, reluctantly. I was staring out into the church, trying to gather myself when they made the announcement that it was “World Marriage Day.” Are you kidding me?! I outwardly snorted! My husband started laughing. Then they asked for all married couples to stand. Boy was I glad I had chosen to stay with him rather than across the church! We were giggling by the end of the recognition over the pure silliness of our situation.

The moral of the story– God certainly has a sense of humor– and thank goodness, so do I! I am so grateful that we went to church. My heart was softened and I was able to overcome my shortcomings to heal our burdens instead of adding to them. It is truly a church experience I won’t soon forget!

2 thoughts on “Grumpy Pants

  1. HAHAHA! I can totally see this event unfold and the two of you giggling like children in the midst if it. Maybe that’s why I love you both so much! 😍

Leave a Reply

